the never ending WHEN-questions

i read an interesting post here:

Peer pressure when you are 30++

so i guess that ‘adult peer pressure’ happens everywhere in the world. in our country, well we have that kind of  ‘adult peer pressure’ too. i call it, the never ending WHEN-questions.  it started when we’re around 17 or 18 y’ol.

WHEN will you have a girlfriend/ boyfriend?
WHEN will you graduate from college?
WHEN will you get a serious girlfriend/ boyfriend?
WHEN will you get a better job?
WHEN will you get married?
WHEN will you get pregnant (this is THE WORST ‘when-question’ for married woman with no child yet, LIKE ME!)
WHEN will you have another child?
WHEN will your baby be able to do this and that?

and the list shall continues till the end of our life. ha! And unfortunately, it is consider polite to ask questions like those. Oh dear God 😦

13 thoughts on “the never ending WHEN-questions

  1. People ask those SAME questions here in the U.S. – and they are just as annoying. Particularly, these two: WHEN will you get married?
    WHEN will you get pregnant?

    🙂

  2. So very very typical of Indonesian families and family friends etc etc. I can say without a doubt that they’re very nosy but I guess it’s like that in a lot of other places as well. I’m glad I’ve been raised outside of Indonesia so I don’t have to hear these annoying questions being asked so often. I only ge asked when I go home and visit them. *Phew* Count me out!

  3. The same happens in my culture as well! Especially “When will you get married?”. Marriage is a big thing where I’m from, the pressure is huge, especially when everyone around gets married, relatives will come knocking on your door “SO, when are YOU getting married??!” lol

  4. Yes, so many questions! Why can’t people mind there own business? I guess it’s because curious minds want to know…. people simply love drama… cheap entertainment. I usually tell people when they start asking me a lot of questions… “you can read about it when I write my autobiography”.

  5. Hi! Thanks oodles for taking a look at my blog and commenting! I am so honored to be on your blog role. 🙂 Thank you.

    As far as questions at 30++…. I let people ask their questions. I think it is normal for people to expect such things, but in my experience- they can ask all they want and I remember in the midst of their questioning that I am on my own timeline. I will get to where ever I am going on my personal journey at the right time (for me). I keep in mind that we are all so deliciously different and that is what makes the world such a beautiful place. I always march to the beat of my own drum and dance to the song in my own heart, knowing that I am evolving into my highest expression of love and wisdom at my own pace…. Enjoying the ride. 🙂

    You, my friend are right on time. 🙂

    Keep up your writing! You have lovely insights and thank you for sharing.

  6. To Seth :
    “Why can’t people mind there own business?”

    Because their business is a boring one and our business is more interesting? :mrgreen: Yep. They love the drama.

  7. “I keep in mind that we are all so deliciously different and that is what makes the world such a beautiful place.”

    Yup. All of us should learn to think that way too 😀

  8. To Currie Rose :
    “I keep in mind that we are all so deliciously different and that is what makes the world such a beautiful place.”

    Yup. All of us should learn to think that way too 😀 So that we don’t judge others whenever they’re making a different decision with what we expected.

Leave a Reply

