Don’t ask the question if you are not prepared for the answer

some people tend to ask, well, simple question like : “Do i look fat?”

if in my opinion, that person doesnt look fat, then of course i will answer : “No you dont. You look good,” -sometimes my answer can satisfy them. but in many times they will reply with : “But i am fat. i am gaining weight, etc…” yadda yadda yadda…

well ok then. the next time people ask me difficult question, i will ask them back : “Do you want to hear the truth or do you want me to give you the-answer-you-wanna-hear?

will i be rude, then?

8 thoughts on “Don’t ask the question if you are not prepared for the answer

  1. OMG…thank you SO MUCH for posting this because I TOTALLY agree with you!!!!

    And no, you will not be rude.

    I have a tendency to give honest (but tactful) answers, because if ever “I” ask someone a question I expect them to be honest with me.

    So, I always preface before answering a question, with, “Well, do you really want to hear my answer, or the answer you really want?”

    Usually they say, “Give me your honest opinion.” So I do.

  2. I agree – give them the answer they dont want to hear – the honest answer! Most people that ask ‘Do I look fat in this?’ are looking for an appraisal rather than the truth. Be tactful, be nice, but above all be truthful! 🙂

  3. It’s easy to believe someone when they’re telling you exactly what you want to hear. But, if someone has enough courage to ask you a question seriously, then you should be brave enough to answer truthfully!
    I think that the hardest thing about searching for the truth… is that sometimes we find it. 🙂

  4. Hmmm…I think when people ask that question they are almost saying, “I need to be encouraged, my self-esteem is low right now.” Although I try not to lie, I don’t think it is wrong to lift a friend up and compliment them “You look great, I think you are beautiful..” and then ask, “Are you not feeling good about yourself right now?”

    Just my two cents. 🙂

Leave a Reply

